The Wishing Balloons

$ 18.99
Type: Books
For fans of Be Kind, Come With Me, and Waiting, Jonathan D. Voss’s stunning new picture book, The Wishing Balloons, is a timeless story of the struggle, wonder, and power of making a new friend.

A young girl named Dot is overjoyed when the moving truck arrives at the house down the street, and even more excited when a boy her age steps out, offering the prospect of a new friend.

But Albert looks sad, and he won’t reveal why. After many attempts to cheer him up, Dot walks away defeated.

That night, a balloon with a note tied to its string taps her window. Unfolding the note, Dot finds a wish that Albert has written. This is her chance to make Albert happy—she will (creatively) grant his wishes.

Though as each wish becomes harder to grant, Dot learns the powerful lesson that sometimes being a friend means waiting until the people you care about are ready to reach out.